I’ve written a lot in the past about shady dealings and outright scams. I’ve also received legal threats on multiple occasions after writing about what I felt was pretty underhand tactics. These days I try to be a little more tactful, but sometimes the lows I see people stoop to really grind my gears.
We Cant find Your Site On Google.ie
A client received this yesterday from a
—–Original Message—–
From: John Hartley [mailto:traffic@persimmonpublishing.com]
Sent: 28 July 2009 09:03
To: info@somesite.ie
Subject: I visited your website and had a question
Hello,
I was looking at websites under the keyword ‘widget services’ and came
across your site http://www.somesite.ie. I see that you’re ranked
first, but on page 7 in google.ie.
I’m not sure if you’re aware of why you’re ranked this low but more
importantly how easily this can be corrected.
There’s no reason you can’t have a top three ranking for this keyword
based on your site structure and content. You have a very nice site.
You need significantly more one way anchor text backlinks. If you’re
interested I can help you with this…
I’m talking about getting you ranked for ALL your keywords. Adding new
backlinks on a steady and consistent basis from high PR quality websites
is what produces the rankings you are looking for.
The right kind of links are very critical in getting top ranking….and
I can hand deliver these quality links to you.
My partners and I own 1000’s websites and offer private linking to
hundreds of website owners just like yourself.
I didn’t send this email out to thousands of people but I am currently
reaching out to a list of your ‘keyword competitors’ as well. But you’re
my favourite and you are the one I really favour and the one I see I can
monetize the targeted website traffic our linking can deliver.
I have your contact info as: phone no: 01 xxx xxxx. Is it ok if I give
you a call?
I have a very simple way to prove that what I do works and it’s risk
free for you to try. Nothing beats seeing the results with your own eyes.
Is it ok if I give you a call? I would love to pursue this further over
the phone with you or should I go somewhere else?
Sincerely,
John Hartley
Tel: 0845 301 7737
Director, Persimmon Publishing Ltd
Persimmon Publishing Ltd is Registered in England Reg. No. 05078726, VAT
No 723 369236.
Registered Office: 311 Shoreham Street, Sheffield S2 4FA, UK
I’ve redacted some info to protect the innocent. So let’s deal with all the “facts” offered by John.
Site Ranks #1 on Page 7 of Google.ie
I see that you’re ranked first, but on page 7 in google.ie.”
For the keyword given by John (but redacted above) the site in question has ranked #1 pretty much constantly for a few years now. That’s #1 ‘web search’ on page #1 of google.ie.
Persimmon Publishing and Partners Run Domain and Link Farms
The right kind of links are very critical in getting top ranking….and
I can hand deliver these quality links to you.
My partners and I own 1000’s websites and offer private linking to
hundreds of website owners just like yourself.
So let’s be clear here – John and his ‘partners’ over at Persimmon Publishing own large networks of sites, and they can give you links that will help you rank just like that. Apart from being a somewhat shady SEO tactic, these guys can also turn off those links at any time. So what’s the difference between this and Adwords? Both are chronic, but you’re a lot less likely to get banned from Adwords.
The Inferred Blackmail Threat – Buy Our Service Or We’ll Help Your Competitors
I didn’t send this email out to thousands of people but I am currently
reaching out to a list of your ‘keyword competitors’ as well. But you’re
my favourite and you are the one I really favour and the one I see I can
monetize the targeted website traffic our linking can deliver.
Actually I’m willing to bet that John Hartley of Persimmon Publishing Ltd probably did send this out to thousands of people. It’s most likely automated, although it has been written in a way to look fairly genuine.
But the blackmailing reference to contacting direct competitors is disturbing also. For hard-pressed business owners the possibility that this guy will go and point his link network onto a competitors site must be worrying. But you know – if you’re a sucker now what’s to stop the highly ethical Persimmon Publishing from raising your prices later to avoid them defecting to your competition?
If It Sounds Too Good To Be True…
For anyone worried about this – DONT. What these guys are offering (if it’s even real) might work for a few sites in the short term, but I guarantee it wont last in the long run. If you’re concerned about possible scams involving Google or SEO I’d recommend you read this. If you do receive an email from the same company I’d love to hear about it.
Related posts:
- Yahoo Site Explorer – checking your backlinks
- Links Form The Fabric Of The Internet
- Who Said META Tag Optimization Was Dead?