Home
Search results “Magazine literary review”
My Favourite Literary Journals & Magazines // Lillytales
 
08:41
Which publications do you subscribe to? I'd love to hear your thoughts in the comments below. Don't forget to like this video and subscribe to my channel if you're enjoying my content :) Thanks for watching! Sam Cooney's Article on Australia Council Arts Funding Cuts: http://ow.ly/Sonj300AA6l Gayby Baby Documentary: http://thegaybyproject.com/ PUBLICATIONS MENTIONED: The Lifted Brow: http://theliftedbrow.com/ Canary Press: http://thecanarypress.com/ Dumbo Feather: http://www.dumbofeather.com/ Archer Magazine: http://archermagazine.com.au/ Voiceworks: http://www.voiceworksmag.com.au/ The Happy Reader: https://www.thehappyreader.com/ COME FIND ME: Blog: https://www.lillytales.com Instagram: http://ow.ly/4mXUCE Twitter: https://twitter.com/lillytales_ Pinterest: http://ow.ly/4mXUJv GoodReads: http://ow.ly/RBmc300akQF
Views: 1848 Lillytales
AAWWTV: The Shanghai Literary Review Launch
 
01:14:54
On Jan. 18th, 2018 we hosted the launch of The Shanghai Literary Review’s second issue. TSLR is an English language literature and arts magazine based in Shanghai and New York, Featuring original artwork, poetry, fiction, nonfiction, book review, and translation from and about Asia. Nancy Huang, Jianan Qian, Joy Huang Stoffers, Jeremy Tiang, and Julie Wenglinski shared their work from the magazine as well as answered questions about writing, translation, and literary journal publication. -- http://aaww.org http://facebook.com/AsianAmericanWritersWorkshop http://twitter.com/aaww AAWW is a national not-for-profit arts organization devoted to the creating, publishing, developing and disseminating of creative writing by Asian Americans–in other words, we’re the preeminent organization dedicated to the belief that Asian American stories deserve to be told. We’re building the Asian literary culture of tomorrow through our curatorial platform, which includes our New York events series and our online editorial initiatives. In a time when China and India are on the rise, when immigration is a vital electoral issue, when the detention of Muslim Americans is a matter of common practice, we believe Asian American literature is vital to interpret our post-multicultural but not post-racial age. Our curatorial take is intellectual and alternative, pop cultural and highbrow, warm and artistically innovative, and vested in New York City communities. Our curatorial platform is premised on the idea of a big-tent Asian American cultural pluralism. We’re interested in both the New York publishing industry and ethnic studies, the South Asian diasporic novel and the Asian American story of assimilation, high culture and pop culture, Lisa Lowe and Amar Chitra Katha, avant-garde poetry and spoken word, journalism and critical race theory, Midnight’s Children and Dictee. We are against both an exclusive literary culture that believes that race does not exist and Asian American narratives that lead to self-stereotyping and limit the menu of our identity. We are for inventing the future of Asian American literary culture. Named one of the top five Asian American groups nationally, covered by the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal and Poets & Writers, we are a safe community space and an anti-racist counterculture, incubating new ideas and interpretations of what it means to be both an American and a global citizen. -- http://aaww.org http://facebook.com/AsianAmericanWritersWorkshop http://twitter.com/aaww AAWW is a national not-for-profit arts organization devoted to the creating, publishing, developing and disseminating of creative writing by Asian Americans–in other words, we’re the preeminent organization dedicated to the belief that Asian American stories deserve to be told. We’re building the Asian literary culture of tomorrow through our curatorial platform, which includes our New York events series and our online editorial initiatives. In a time when China and India are on the rise, when immigration is a vital electoral issue, when the detention of Muslim Americans is a matter of common practice, we believe Asian American literature is vital to interpret our post-multicultural but not post-racial age. Our curatorial take is intellectual and alternative, pop cultural and highbrow, warm and artistically innovative, and vested in New York City communities. Our curatorial platform is premised on the idea of a big-tent Asian American cultural pluralism. We’re interested in both the New York publishing industry and ethnic studies, the South Asian diasporic novel and the Asian American story of assimilation, high culture and pop culture, Lisa Lowe and Amar Chitra Katha, avant-garde poetry and spoken word, journalism and critical race theory, Midnight’s Children and Dictee. We are against both an exclusive literary culture that believes that race does not exist and Asian American narratives that lead to self-stereotyping and limit the menu of our identity. We are for inventing the future of Asian American literary culture. Named one of the top five Asian American groups nationally, covered by the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal and Poets & Writers, we are a safe community space and an anti-racist counterculture, incubating new ideas and interpretations of what it means to be both an American and a global citizen.
UNBOXING #4 | LITERARY YA BOX, S&S, MIMP MAG.
 
07:21
► I unbox a lot of awesome bookish stuff! Yay for unboxings! Mimp Magazine: http://www.magcloud.com/browse/issue/1186994 MORE LINK STUFF BELOW! ----------------------­----------------------------------------­---------------------- LITERARY YA BOX - • Link: https://quarterly.co/products/literary-young-adult • This new box partners with different best-selling authors each quarter to deliver an immersive and personalized reading experience. Each author will include her or his new release, as well as two other books that inspired her or him. The box will also include hand-written annotations, so you will know what she or he was thinking while they were writing, plus a fun mix of bookish goods! CYBER MONDAY SALE: http://on.qrtr.ly/BookGifts1 ----------------------­----------------------------------------­---------------------- OTHER INTERWEB STUFF: • OCCASIONAL INSTAGRAM: @momochavezz//thetmifangirl • RARE BLOG: http://www.ohmyblogyouguys.wordpress.com • I DON'T REALLY TWITTER: @momochavezz • GOODREADS: https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/33079655-momo-chavez ----------------------­----------------------------------------­---------------------- • SUBSCRIBE to my channel here: https://www.youtube.com/user/thebooktubegirl?sub_confirmation=1 • Exit Song: Alone - Marshmello • Business Inquiries: [email protected] ----------------------­----------------------------------------­---------------------- • Thank you guys so much for watching and a huge thank you to Simon & Schuster and Quarterly Co.! xox ----------------------­----------------------------------------­---------------------- DISCLAIMER: Some of the products included in this video were sent to me for free by companies in exchange for an honest, free review. This video is not sponsored and all opinions are my own.
Views: 989 The Booktube Girl
FIRST SIX EDITIONS of 1940s LITERARY REVIEW MAGAZINE: T. S. ELIOT INTEREST.
 
01:57
FIRST SIX EDITIONS of 1940s LITERARY REVIEW MAGAZINE: T. S. ELIOT INTEREST. Currently for sale on eBay. Please visit: http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=121070277035 My email address is [email protected] if you wish to contact me.
Views: 14 curio vendor
2018 Literary Journals Review
 
08:48
Journals/Litmags reviewed: Free State Review: http://freestatereview.com/ Beach Life, as put out by Cat and Mouse Press: http://catandmousepress.com/ ...and sponsored in part by Browseabout Books: http://www.browseaboutbooks.com/ District Lines, where, disclaimer, my short story "Quarter Life" was published (purchase here! :P): https://www.politics-prose.com/book/9781624291401 My Short Stories Spotlight playlist: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLNWZaEobSKhsEfQuwy9YA-X7c778JUerm My blog: https://blog.rachelmauro.net Find me on GoodReads! https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1083872-rachel Or Twitter! https://twitter.com/rmauro2 Even Instagram! https://www.instagram.com/chavalahh/ Video music: Running Waters by Audionautix is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution license.
Views: 53 Rachel Mauro
examples of literary reviews for dissertations
 
01:17
Get 15% Discount: https://goo.gl/M2lUTR?21743
The Death of Literature | Jody Azzouni | TEDxJerseyCity
 
17:14
Reading is declining everywhere. Surprisingly, this is because of cognitive and biological reasons. It's a cultural shift of enormous magnitude--essentially the death of several art forms. Jody Azzouni is currently professor of philosophy at Tufts University. He's published many articles and several books in philosophy, most recently, "Semantic Perception: How the illusion of a common language arises and persists." He also publishes short stories and poems regularly in literary magazines such as Alaska Quarterly Review, The Literary Review, and many others. This talk was given at a TEDx event using the TED conference format but independently organized by a local community. Learn more at http://ted.com/tedx
Views: 2426 TEDx Talks
The Making of the London Review of Books
 
01:56
Follow an issue of the London Review of Books as it travels from the editors' floor to your front door. Read more: http://www.lrb.co.uk/ ABOUT THE LRB The LRB is Europe’s leading magazine of books and ideas. Published twice a month, it provides a space for some of the world’s best writers to explore a wide variety of subjects in exhilarating detail – from culture and politics to science and technology via history and philosophy. In the age of the long read, the LRB remains the pre-eminent exponent of the intellectual essay, admired around the world for its fearlessness, its range and its elegance. As well as essays and book reviews each issue also contains poems, an exhibition review, ‘short cuts’, letters and a diary, and is available in print, online, and offline via our app. Subscribers enjoy unlimited access to almost 15,000 articles in our digital archive. Our website features a regular blog and a channel of audio and video content, including podcasts, author interviews and highlights from the events programme at the London Review Bookshop. The London Review of Books was founded in 1979, during the year-long management lockout at the Times. In June that year, Frank Kermode wrote a piece in the Observer suggesting that a new magazine fill the space left by the temporary absence of the Times Literary Supplement. The first issue of the LRB, edited by Karl Miller, appeared four months later. It included pieces by Miller and Kermode, as well as John Bayley on William Golding and William Empson on A Midsummer Night’s Dream, and poems by Ted Hughes and Seamus Heaney. Edited by Mary-Kay Wilmers since 1992, the LRB now has the largest circulation of any magazine of its kind in Europe (2017 ABC: 74,157) and offices in London and New York.
2017 Literary Journals Review
 
03:32
Journals reviewed The Delmarva Review: http://www.delmarvareview.com/ The Raleigh Review: http://www.raleighreview.org/ Videos mentioned NaNoWriMo 2016: Week Three: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xDAwRcjkuvA 2016 Literary Journals Review: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UM9wE1F9OV8 Daybreak by Kevin MacLeod is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution license (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/...) Source: http://incompetech.com/music/royalty-... Artist: http://incompetech.com/
Views: 24 Rachel Mauro
Favorite Literary Magazines
 
10:43
Going over some of my favorite literary magazines http://www.noonannual.com/ http://www.conjunctions.com/ http://www.sleepingfish.net/ http://www.nytyrant.com/magazine.html http://www.calamaripress.com/3rdBed/3rd_Bed_Issues.htm http://www.theparisreview.org/ -------------------- Goodreads: http://tinyurl.com/jsuw4se Twitter: https://twitter.com/PaperBirdBooks Twitter: https://twitter.com/freshwipe Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/paperbirdbooks Blog: http://dumpygirls.blogspot.com/ Email: [email protected]
Views: 404 PaperBird
How to Get Published in Literary Journals and Write Better Query Letters with Dani Hedlund | PPP101
 
43:36
http://www.ebookpublishingschool.com Dani Hedlund published her first novel Threads of Deception at the age of 18. After experiencing the difficulties of getting her book published she founded Tethered by Letters in 2007 to help other new writers perfect and publish their work. Tethered by Letters is a nonprofit offers free writing coaching, publishing, and editing guidance and it has grown into an amazing community of writers, editors and artists from all over the world. Dani began writing Threads of Deception when she was 15 years old. When she finished writing the book a year later she had no idea what to do with it. She grew up in a farming community and didn’t have any publishing contacts. She spent the next two years of her life trying to get someone in the publishing industry to take her seriously. When she was finally able to hold a copy of her published book in her hands she thought of all the times she almost gave up. That’s when she decided to create Tethered by Letters to help new authors navigate the publishing industry. One of the breakout successes that Tethered by Letters helped to navigate the publishing industry is Isaac Marion who wrote the short story that inspired the movie Warm Bodies. He has since written a novel that expands on the short story. Our conversation covered many topics including: the best way to break into the publishing industry, strategies for writing query letters, and common mistakes that new writers make. Here are a few of the highlights from the interview: • If you want to make a career out of writing you can’t simply wait for the muse to bless you with a wealth of ideas. • Writers Write. You have to put in the “butt in chair” time working at your craft if you want to succeed. • If you want to be traditionally published today the most important thing you need to do is build a platform. The easiest way to do that is to get your short stories published in journals, magazines and anthologies. When agents see that you’ve already been published they are more likely to look at your work because they see that other people have taken a chance on your writing. It’s classic social proof. • The short form side of the publishing industry is incredibly diverse. Over 90% of literary journals do not pay writers for their submissions. Those journals have value because agents and editors read them. Tethered by Letters does pay for the submissions that they end up publishing. • Why book deals and film deals are the way to earn the most money in the industry for fiction writers. • Every time you publish it helps your career. • You should practice your craft by writing short stories. When you write short stories you’re exposed to your errors in a much more condensed and navigable way. It’s much easier to understand what you’re doing wrong in a shorter piece of fiction because there are fewer moving parts. This can lead to faster learning and improvement. • Enjoy the process of writing and submitting your work. It’s the only way to survive the journey and become successful. • You will grow faster in a less painful way if you write short fiction first. • Writing short stories is a good way for you to figure out what kind of writing sells well in your market. It’s a good way for you to judge the audience reaction before investing time in writing a novel or series of novels. • Any author that tells you, “I only write for myself and I don’t care what other people think,” is lying. • Authors write because we want people to hear what we have to say. In order for people to hear what we have to say we have to find our audience and entertain them while exposing them to our point of view. • The most common misconception among new writers is: “If my reader didn’t understand what I have to say then my reader isn’t smart enough.” As a writer our primary job is to communicate ideas. If the reader doesn’t understand the idea that you’re trying to communicate it’s the job of the writer to revise their work so that it’s understandable to as many people as possible. • The biggest thing that new writers have to learn is that you can be wrong. All humans are fallible. The flip side of that is that revision is always possible. • The easiest thing to do is identify the writer by how grandiose their writing is. How many words are you using? Are you trying to show off your literary erudition? Check out The Publishing Profits Podcast show to get weekly interviews from bestselling authors, publishers, literary agents, publishing attorneys and industry experts who share their secrets to publishing success at http://publishingprofitspodcast.com Or subscribe to the podcast show on iTunes at https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/publishing-profits-podcast/id788984301?mt=2 Get your book published and professionally marketed by TCK Publishing at http://www.tckpublishing.com/publish-your-book Get more hands-on Kindle publishing and marketing training for free at http://www.ebookpublishingschool.com
Views: 368 Tom Corson-Knowles
Literary journal & magazine reviews + 500 subscriber GIVEAWAY
 
13:42
Hi! If you're just here for the giveaway, here's the deal. To celebrate 500 subs, I'm giving away a year's subscription to one of my favourite literary journals. To enter, tell me which one you prefer in the comments. Open internationally and open till Sunday, June 17, 2018. I will choose and notify a winner on Monday, June 18. If I don't get a response, I'll choose again in 48 hours. Make sure I have a way of contacting you, and it would be lovely if you subscribed or liked or shared this, but you know. I'm not going to check. Choose from the following: 1. Quill and Quire https://quillandquire.com/ 2. Glass Buffalo https://www.glassbuffalo.com/ 3. Canadian Notes and Queries http://notesandqueries.ca/ 4. Bookforum https://www.bookforum.com/ 5. The Happy Reader https://www.thehappyreader.com/ Shout outs: Barter Hordes, closing in on 500 himself: https://www.youtube.com/user/rsheard Lia - Hyde and Seek, who will surpass 1K soon: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC7VLgxcHt8zbi11W1UXqt4A Thank you everyone! I blog at reading-in-bed.com
Views: 142 Laura Frey
SCARCE 1961 LITERARY REVIEW MAGAZINE ('STAND') with 4 NEW SAMUEL BECKETT POEMS.
 
01:38
SCARCE 1961 LITERARY REVIEW MAGAZINE ('STAND') with 4 NEW SAMUEL BECKETT POEMS. Currently for sale on eBay. Please visit: http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=121050942426 My email address is [email protected] if you wish to contact me.
Views: 36 curio vendor
12 EDITIONS of RARE 1899 LITERARY REVIEW MAGAZINE 'THE BUTTERFLY': BEERBOHM &c
 
02:52
12 EDITIONS of RARE 1899 LITERARY REVIEW MAGAZINE 'THE BUTTERFLY': BEERBOHM &c Currently for sale on eBay. Please visit: http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=121081959926 My email address is [email protected] if you wish to contact me.
Views: 32 curio vendor
Canada's Magazines / Les magazines d'ici
 
03:06
Take an energized trip through the Canadian experience in all its diversity, beauty and complexity as reflected in Canada’s magazines: Dynamic, innovative, building community. Les magazines d'ici : Dynamiques. Novateurs. Renforcent les communautés. The featured magazines are (in alphabetical order): A/J Alternatives Journal Alive Avenue Edmonton AZURE Best Health Biosphère Briarpatch Canada's History Canadian Forest Industries Canadian Geographic Canadian Underwriters Canadian Vending Canadian Wildlilfe Carousel Chatelaine Cottage Life Curated Life EcoParent ELLE Canada FASHION Geist Hayo House and Home Inuit Art Quarterly Le bulletin des agriculteurs Maclean's MM&D Motorcycle Mojo L'actualité Literary Review of Canada Ricardo Nouveau Projet Ottawa Magazine Ryerson Review of Journalism Sélection Sheridan College Spacing The Fiddlehead The Hockey News The Kit The Walrus Today's Parent Toronto Life Truck News University Affairs Produced by the Canadian Press. Made possible with the support of the Ontario Media Development Corporation. Rendu possible grâce au soutien de la Société pour le développement des médias de l’Ontario.
Views: 149 Magazines Canada
Literary Magazine Editors: Portland 2015
 
04:36
Dana Isokawa, assistant editor of Poets & Writers Magazine, talks with the editors of some of Portland's most exciting literary magazines about about the kind of work they're looking for, the relationships they cultivate with their authors, and the balance between publishing traditional work and developing new and innovative ideas for both print and digital literature. Panelists include LeAnna Crawford of Getrude, Cheston Knapp of Tin House, Travis Meyer of Poor Claudia, and Kim Winterheimer of Masters Review. www.pw.org/live Video by Jonathan R. Walsh.
Views: 408 poetsandwriters
'RHYTHM': RARE 1911 MODERNIST ART & LITERARY REVIEW MAGAZINE; PICASSO INTEREST.
 
02:38
FOR SALE: 'RHYTHM': RARE 1911 MODERNIST ART & LITERARY REVIEW MAGAZINE; PICASSO INTEREST. Currently for sale on eBay. Please visit: http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=121050935181 My email address is [email protected] if you wish to contact me.
Views: 59 curio vendor
Because: A Literary Magazine (link in description)
 
04:15
I am starting a literary magazine! Also, I'm blurry, I will get better at this. Check out the call for submissions here: https://saitscreative.com/becauselitmag/ Check out my website: saitscreative.com Follow me: @saitschristian Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/saitschristian/ Snapchat: @saitschristian Twitter: https://twitter.com/SaitsChristian Intro song JPB - High [NCS Release] https://youtu.be/Tv6WImqSuxA Background music Ukulele by BENSOUND http://www.bensound.com/royalty-free-... Creative Commons — Attribution 3.0 Unported— CC BY 3.0 http://creativecommons.org/licenses/b... Music provided by Audio Library https://youtu.be/G7HoUVcL5-U
Views: 26 SaItsChristian
Bare Fiction Literary Magazine Kickstarter Promo
 
00:49
Our kickstarter campaign has now finished. You can order a copy of Bare Fiction Magazine from our website: http://www.barefictionmagazine.co.uk Discover genre-defying boldness from exciting writers in poetry, fiction and plays, literary review, interviews and commentary. What's Bare Fiction Magazine all about? It is very simple. We are passionately striving to promote new work and showcase the breadth of vibrant emerging and established writers working in poetry, short fiction and playwriting. What's the money for? All staff involved with the magazine are putting in their time and effort for the love of promoting brilliant writing. The money is for the initial print run, launch, shipping and distribution of 500 copies of the launch issue to be published in December 2013. The costs breakdown like this: Printing: £1100 (initial run of 500 copies) Shipping and Distribution: £200 (we'll be stocked in 40 independent book shops in the UK) Launch events: £300 Total: £1600 We'll be using book stock quality paper and printing it with a resilient cover so that you'll be able to cherish and read your copy again and again. If we receive more than our initial funding goal, we plan to print and distribute more copies of the magazine. What can we expect from the launch issue? We'll be publishing the magazine for the very first time in December 2013, with 60 to 80 pages of new writing in poetry, fiction and theatre, including literary review, profiles and interviews with authors and practitioners. We'll keep adding to the list below as confirmations and submissions come in. Lisa Parry will be interviewing Richard Lewis Davies, publishing director of Parthian Books, about its development of new writers during its 20 years in existence. Emma Andrew will be providing a retrospective of novels she couldn't resist revisiting during 2013, along with an interview with author Yangsze Choo about her debut novel The Ghost Bride. Robert Harper will be talking to Dan O'Brien about his Forward Prize shortlisted poetry collection War Reporter. O'Brien will also be discussing his play The Body of an American, which receives its UK premiere at the Gate Theatre in London in early 2014. Amelia Forsbrook will be looking at the work of emerging playwright Neil Bebber and interviewing him about his writing process. Plus, we'll be printing the complete text of his short play Breathe, which was performed earlier this year at the Almeida Theatre as part of Dirty Protest's Plays In a Bag season. Also, plenty of new writing, including work from Dan O'Brien, Jane Slavin, Elvis Avdibegovic Bego, Katie Bickell, AJ Huffman, Nicholas Grider, Sarah Hehir, Fred D'Aguiar, Boyd Clack, Adam Horovitz, Roger Garfitt, Jemma L. King, Adrian Perks, Liz Lefroy, Aidan Hehir, Krisztina Fehervari, Robert Fabre, Marius Surleac, Charles Wilkinson, Michael Naghten Shanks, Yevgeniy Levitskiy, Marion Adams and previous Foyle Young Poet of the Year Matthew Broomfield.
Views: 384 Bare Fiction
2016 Literary Journals Review
 
03:22
Journals Reviewed CHERRY TREE: https://www.washcoll.edu/centers/lithouse/cherry-tree/ STORYQUARTERLY: http://storyquarterly.camden.rutgers.edu/ My "Best American Short Stories 2015" review: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1495880428 Daybreak by Kevin MacLeod is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution license (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/) Source: http://incompetech.com/music/royalty-free/index.html?isrc=USUAN1100266 Artist: http://incompetech.com/
Views: 52 Rachel Mauro
SCARCE 1919 LITERARY REVIEW MAGAZINE; NEVILLE CARDUS / THOMAS BEECHAM INTEREST.
 
01:24
FOR SALE: SCARCE 1919 LITERARY REVIEW MAGAZINE; NEVILLE CARDUS / THOMAS BEECHAM INTEREST. Currently for sale on eBay. Please visit: http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=121050939574 My email address is [email protected] if you wish to contact me.
Views: 125 curio vendor
Find out Rapsodia (Rapsodia Independent Literary Review)
 
01:10
A video by Sonia Secchi and David Fragale more: www.rapso.org
#dwf16: Starting A Literary Journal
 
53:56
We all love a good literary journal, but how do you think of a focus for your own journal, and then how do you get it off the ground? The brains behind some of Australia’s newest literary journals – SNAP Journal, Other Terrain, Backstory, and Antic Magazine – discuss how to start up a journal, the thrills and spills, and how they connect with their audience and writers. Presented in partnership with Swinburne University, Dept Media and Communication and SNAP Journal With: Wendy Dunn https://twitter.com/wendyjdunn Eloise Faichney https://twitter.com/eloisefaichney Brendan Paholski https://twitter.com/matthew_paho2 Aaron Mannion https://twitter.com/azdamaz === The Digital Writers' Festival, brought to you by the Emerging Writers' Festival, is an annual celebration and inquiry into writers and writing online. DWF 2016 takes place November 1 - 11. Find the whole 2016 program here: http://digitalwritersfestival.com/2016/ Catch up on DWF 2015: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLDESK6InUjoLCBd1jOnww_VPgOB3mKUvG And DWF 2014: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLDESK6InUjoIZ6p5MsLOaCC_fB3qw3N1F === Help make the Digital Writers’ Festival accessible by providing closed captions! Contribute closed captions to any of our videos: http://www.youtube.com/timedtext_cs_panel?c=UCLtRk66K-5fNmy47JPRfPPw&tab=2 YouTube's tips on captioning: https://support.google.com/youtube/answer/6054623?hl=en === Join us on: Twitter: https://twitter.com/digitalwriters Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/emergingwriters/ Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/EmergingWritersFestival
WeSaidIt
 
00:06
Accepting titles for literary review OCT 1, 2016
Views: 5 T's Blogging
3 in 1  literary reviews
 
10:20
3 literary reviews in 1. Reviews of; "A certain smile" by F. Sagan. "The power of darkness" by L. Tolstoj "The house of the vampire" by G. S. Viereck Read other literary review on my blog: https://lesserknowngems.wordpress.com/ Follow me on twitter: @lesserknowngems
Book Review: Literary Magazine -- theNewerYork
 
06:20
theNewerYork website: http://theneweryork.com Buy a copy: http://theneweryork.com/shop/issue-2/ http://twitter.com/unleash_this http://authorsunleashed.com http://unleash-this.com
Views: 1149 Dean Goranites
What is a Literary Magazine
 
02:06
Welcome to Biblio-Files, where reading, writing, and literary magazines take center stage. If you have questions, comment below or email me at [email protected] CLMP: http://www.clmp.org/indie_publishing/indi_litpubl.html The Kenyon Review: https://www.kenyonreview.org/ Mid-American Review: http://www.bgsu.edu/studentlife/organizations/midamericanreview/ One Story: http://www.one-story.com/ Prairie Margins: http://prairiemargins.com/ Subscribe: http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCwUL1ywr-a20vTouZDDrUbA Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/slawriter89anderson Twitter: https://twitter.com/slawriter89 Blog: http://suzannaanderson.com
Views: 199 Suzanna Anderson
NYSL: A Literary Magazine Salon Celebrating The Hudson Review
 
01:08:41
http://www.nysoclib.org/events/literary-magazine-salon-celebrating-hudson-review-hosted-paula-deitz We celebrate the Hudson Review's 65th Anniversary Issue, "Literature and the Environment," featuring writers exploring landscape, memory, culture, and place. Readings from the Spring Anniversary Issue were given by Laurie Olin, from "An Alaskan Reverie," his illustrated boyhood memoir of Alaska in the 1940s and '50s; Tess Lewis, from her translation of the Swiss poet Philippe Jaccottet's notebook, Seedtime; Peter Wortsman, from his new translation of the Grimms' fairy tales; and Antonio Muñoz Molina, from his memoir "The Lighthouse at the End of the Hudson" about his walks along the Hudson River. Host Paula Deitz is Editor of The Hudson Review and author of the book Of Gardens: Selected Essays (University of Pennsylvania Press). Laurie Olin is a renowned landscape architect and author of Across the Open Field: Essays Drawn on the English Landscape (University of Pennsylvania Press). Tess Lewis is an Advisory Editor of The Hudson Review and an award-winning translator from French and German. Peter Wortsman is the author of a memoir, Ghost Dance in Berlin: A Rhapsody in Gray (Travelers' Tales). Antonio Muñoz Molina is the 2013 recipient of the Jerusalem Prize and author most recently of the novel La noche de los tiempos (Seix Parral).
General Excellence, Print: Literary, Political and Professional Magazines
 
03:34
Lorin Stein, Editor of The Paris Review accepts an Ellie at the 2013 National Magazine Awards
Views: 35 mpamagmedia
TheFLR
 
01:53
http://theflr.net/theflr - TheFLR The Florentine Literary Review - the only bilingual Italian/English literary magazine is now accepting orders on Indiegogo.
Views: 2533 The Florentine
The Little Book of Calm - A Stubagful Literary Review
 
13:33
Pilot #2: The second building brick. Yeah, this was always the obvious idea, basically running like my fifty shades reviews but shorter in like 10-15 minutes (though open to longer or multi-part ones as yes Bared to you by Sylvia Day is on my list) basically giving myself more opportunity to lampoon cheap disposable books people don't normally think much about in my usual style. It'd give me opportunity to change up the format as I switch genres as well since this one's very unlike other stuff I've covered before. NOT MINE: The little book of calm (Penguin) Open sea morning - Puddle of Infinity (youtube's free library)
Views: 1967 Stubagful
3Elements Literary Review "Story Slam Event"
 
01:07
3Elements "Story Slam Event" 2015 reader. Enjoy this video, as well as other short stories and literature in our journal, issue no. 7, exclusively on our website at http://www.3elementsreview.com/journal-issues/3elements-review-summer-journal-issue-7-2015.pdf
Views: 22 3Elements Review
Literary Arts Review
 
01:03
Literary Arts Review Magazine is a unique online Literature and Arts lifestyle journal. Do you love the Arts? Do you live the Literary Lifestyle? Surround yourself with Beauty ... read Literary Arts Review Magazine. Subscribe on www.literaryartsreview.com.
Revenge: A Promotional Video for the North Carolina Literary Review
 
03:47
The Editor just has to see the NCLR back issues for herself. The Editorial Assistant is eager to oblige.
Views: 23 Randall Martoccia
Introducing Literary Lunes Magazine
 
00:46
Literary Lunes Magazine is a bi-monthly zine that publishes short stories, poetry, author interviews, book reviews and much more! For more information, visit the website at www.literarylunespublications.com
T's Blogging Interviews | WeSaidIt: Literary Reviews
 
17:09
T's Blogging gets personal with author Truth Devour. Listen as the award winning author tells all. Follow We Said It: Literary Review on www.mcwpub.blogspot.com | www.facebook.com/ | tsblogging www.twitter.com/tsblogging Interview w/ Author Truth Devour (www.truthdevour.com) Purchase your copy online: Amazon & Barnes & Noble
Views: 56 T's Blogging
[INTRO TO LITERARY MAGS] GETTYSBURG REVIEW (mini mail issue)
 
03:55
ckhanson81 presents [Intro to literary magazines] - this episode Gettysburg Review from Gettysburg, PA- USA- a magazine associated with Gettysburg College. The featured issue is a mini mailed issue from October 2017. Enjoy folks.
Views: 18 ckhanson81
1990s Inside the Literary Review Office, London, Auberon Waugh at Work
 
04:58
From the Kinolibrary archive film collections. To order the clip clean and hi-res or to find out more visit http://www.kinolibrary.com. Clip ref DW012301. 20/11/1995 LOCATION : LITERARY REVIEW IV AUBERON WAUGH GVS THE LIT REVIEW OFFICES
Views: 121 thekinolibrary
Publish In Literary Magazines: Writer Carla McGill Talks About How To Publish In Literary Magazines
 
03:44
Many writers want to know how to publish in literary magazines—especially when it comes to publishing poetry. It’s no easy feat. Not only does a writer need to determine the best literary magazines to consider for a given poetry submission, but that author must also learn the etiquette of submitting poetry for publication. Some writers want help in order to publish in literary magazines. And that’s how writers like Carla McGill came to seek the professional submission assistance offered by Writer’s Relief (http://www.writersrelief.com). Writer’s Relief is a respected submission assistance firm that helps writers publish in literary magazines. We work with submissions in the key creative writing genres: poetry, short stories, personal essays (narrative nonfiction), memoir, novels, and most fiction and nonfiction books. Writers come to us for help with proofreading, manuscript formatting, personalized literary market research, submission tracking, and all the steps a writer must take to publish in literary magazines. Writer’s Relief’s origins reflect our ongoing dedication to high quality, ethical submission assistance. A poet—not unlike Carla McGill—asked Writer’s Relief founder Ronnie Smith to help her make poetry submission to literary journals. Her goal was to publish in literary magazines, but she simply did not have the time or energy needed to get published in literary journals. Soon after Ronnie Smith stepped in to help, Writer’s Relief was born. Now, Writer’s Relief has a client list that includes a range of writers—from promising new authors to veteran bestsellers. Writers who hope to join Writer’s Relief must be writing at a level appropriate for professional submission assistance, and so all prospective clients must first submit a writing sample to the Review Board for consideration. Book authors are assisted with the process of finding literary agent representation; we help writers of creative works publish in literary magazines. It’s not easy to publish in literary magazine, but with dedication and professionalism it’s possible for writers to reach their goals. Rejection letters are expected, of course. But many writers report that working with Writer’s Relief helps to ease the sting of rejections letters—and makes it a lot easier to publish in literary magazines. To learn more about how Writer’s Relief helps writers like Carla McGill publish in literary magazines, please visit our website. We would love to speak with out about your publishing goals. https://youtu.be/CGeTTrIyTLQ
Views: 139 Writer's Relief
Reviving The Evergreen Review for Today's Literary Audiences | BK Live
 
09:48
John Oakes, Publisher of The Evergreen Review, and Dale Peck, Editor-in-Chief of The Evergreen Review join us at the BK Live studio to share their campaign to revive a classic literary magazine dedicated to providing literary space and forward aesthetics to writers and readers. -- This video is from BRIC TV— the first 24/7 television channel created by, for, and about Brooklyn. It is the borough's source for local news, Brooklyn culture, civic affairs, music, arts, sports, and technology. BRIC TV features programming produced and curated by BRIC, an arts and media nonprofit located in Downtown Brooklyn, NYC. Watch more Brooklyn-centric content from BRIC TV: BK Live: http://BRIC.me/u/youtube/bklive Straight Up: http://BRIC.me/u/youtube/straightup #BHeard: http://BRIC.me/u/youtube/bheard B-Side: http://BRIC.me/u/youtube/bside Check out more from BRIC: https://www.youtube.com/c/BRICartsmedia Connect with us: https://www.facebook.com/BRICTV/ http://Twitter.com/BRICTV http://Instagram.com/BRICTV http://BRICartsmedia.org/BRICTV
Views: 84 BRIC TV
Workshop—n+1: How to Do Theory in a Literary Magazine
 
01:55:47
Critical theory, with its often thorny, uncompromising language, seems to be opposed to smooth magazine writing. n+1 editor Nikil Saval will discuss how to convey and perform the insights of theoretical work in writing aimed at a popular audience. Presented in association with The Public Theater and the Lambent Foundation.
Views: 946 PEN America
"Why I Prefer Injectable Narcotics" by Alexis Rhone Fancher
 
00:54
Alexis Rhone Fancher’s poem, “when I turned fourteen, my mother’s sister took me to lunch and said:” was chosen by Edward Hirsch for inclusion in The Best American Poetry of 2016. Her work can be found in Rattle, Cleaver Magazine, Slipstream, Askew, Plume, Tinderbox Literary Journal, Glass, The Nashville Review, Diode, decomP, Public Pool, Anti-Heroin chic, concis, Toad, Anomaly Literary Journal, Blood Orange Review, Vox Populi, Drunk Monkeys, First Literary Review, Poets&Artists, Red Flag Poetry, The American Journal of Poetry, Vol. 4, cahoodaloodaling, Literary Mama, Trailer Park Review, Rise Up Review, The Fem, Wide Awake: Poets of Los Angeles, Loch Raven Review, Nerve Cowboy, Pittsburgh Poetry Review, Portside, Rat’s Ass Review, San Pedro River Review, streetcake, Autumn Sky Poetry Daily, Bared, Blink Ink, The MacGuffin, Ragazine, Menacing Hedge, 13 Myna Birds, KYSO Flash, Quaint Magazine, Blotterature, Hobart, Blink Ink, Carnival Literary Magazine, Pyrene's Fountain, great weather for Media, Les Femmes Folles, Cactus Heart, Fjords Review, Carbon Culture Review, Cliterature, The Chiron Review, Good Men Project, rawboned, Boyslut, Danse Macabre, Dirty Lit, Femme Cat, Fine Linen, Gyroscope Review, Kleft Jaw, Lummox 4, 5, and 6, Patria Letterature, Postcards Poems and Prose, Red Light Lit, Spectrum, Thank You for Swallowing, The Nervous Breakdown, Cafe Reader, N.Z., Wherewithal, WISH, Deep Water Literary Journal, Poeticdiversity, Little Raven, This Is Poetry: Women of the Small Presses, Gutter Eloquence, The Mas Tequila Review, Broadzine!, Bare Hands, Luciferous, High Coupe, Bukowski On Wry, Poetry Super Highway, H_NGM_N, The Serving House Poetry Journal, Clean Sheets, FRE&D, Downer Magazine, The Poetry Storehouse, One Hundred Word Stories, and elsewhere. She has been published in over forty anthologies and chapbooks, both in the U.S. and abroad. Her photographs have been published worldwide, including spreads in River Styx, Blue Lyra, Fine Linen, Blink-Ink, Lummox, Rogue Agent, HeART Online, and the covers of The Mas Tequila Review, The Chiron Review, Heyday Magazine, Nerve Cowboy, and Witness. Since 2012, has Alexis served as Poetry Editor of Cultural Weekly. She is the author of How I Lost My Virginity To Michael Cohen and Other Heart Stab Poems, (Sybaritic Press, 2014). Her chapbook about the death of her son, Joshua, State of Grace: The Joshua Elegies, was published by KYSO Flash Press in October of 2015. Her latest full-length collection, Enter Here, was published in Spring, 2017, from KYSO Flash Press, and her new chapbook, Junkie Wife, the story of her first, devastating marriage, was published in March of 2018 by Moon Tide Press. Since 2013 Alexis has been nominated for twenty Pushcart Prizes, one Best Short Fiction award, and four Best of the Net awards. She and her husband live and collaborate on the bluffs of San Pedro, CA. They have a spectacular view. http://www.alexisrhonefancher.com/
Views: 6 Poetry Idiots
Publishing Poetry & Prose in Literary Journals — Official Book Trailer
 
01:03
Amazon: http://tinyurl.com/ppmcs54 Barnes & Noble: http://tinyurl.com/qgvf95j Visit our website: http://writersrelief.com/ Wondering how to publish in a literary magazine? Writer’s Relief (http://www.WritersRelief.com) has been helping writers get poetry and short stories published in literary journals since 1994. Our client list is exclusive and deliberately small. But now, with our exciting new book Publishing Poetry & Prose in Literary Journals, we’re sharing our secrets with the public to teach writers how to publish in a literary magazine. It seems deceptively simple to submit your poetry or short story to a literary journal for publication. Just fill out a form, attach a submission file, and hit send—right? Not so. If it were easy to publish in a literary magazine, everyone would do it. But getting published in literary journals takes professional know-how, dedication, and most of all, countless hours of focused time and energy. Plus, once you begin submitting to publish in a literary magazine, you’ll inevitably run into problems. For example: Did you know that most editors at literary journals will not accept previously published poetry, short stories, or nonfiction for publication? But what exactly does it mean for a work to be previously published? Also, what will you do when six months go by and you haven’t heard from a particular editor? And what are the best genres to submit if you want to publish in a literary magazine? For DIY writers, Writer’s Relief offers answers to all of these questions and more in our book Publishing Poetry & Prose in Literary Journals. But if you find yourself wishing that someone would handle your submissions to literary magazines for you, we invite you to learn more about Writer’s Relief. We are the best kept “secret” in the publishing industry, helping both new writers and multi-published writers get published in literary magazines. We prepare cover letters, research the BEST literary magazines for each writer’s unique submissions, proofread and format submission pages, and track editors’ responses. Whether you’re writing poetry, a short story, or a nonfiction essay, we can develop a personalized submission strategy just for you that will help you publish in a literary magazine or journal. Publishing Poetry And Prose In Literary Journals can help you publish in a literary magazine. But if you would like the personal help of the expert submission strategists here at Writer’s Relief, we invite you to be in touch! About Self-Publishing Relief: Publishing Poetry & Prose in Literary Journals was published with the assistance of Self-Publishing Relief (http://selfpublishingrelief.com/). At Self-Publishing Relief, we have over twenty years of experience working with authors. We respect writers, so we don’t make empty, pie-in-the-sky promises. Here’s what we do promise: Self-Publishing Relief has the expertise to support and guide you through every step of self-publishing an e-book and print book. Self-Publishing Relief will free you from having to do hours of tedious research and technical formatting. And you will have a finished book you can be proud to put your name on. If you’re considering self-publishing, Self-Publishing Relief can help you navigate the entire process of creating an e-book and print book. For books fewer than 400 pages, Self-Publishing Relief’s service includes: • Formatting • File conversion and linking the table of contents for Kindle and Nook • Cover Art (choose from our template designs or upgrade for additional design elements) • Electronic and print galleys (one revision) • PDF files • 3 paperback author copies (you may order additional copies) • 2 FREE promotion and marketing guides • Creating book trailers If you’re ready to become a published author and get your writing out into the world, schedule a consultation with Self-Publishing Relief today or call (866) 405-3003. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9alewphX9d8
Views: 1071 Writer's Relief
NYSL: Literary Awakenings: Personal Essays from the Hudson Review
 
01:08:32
The New York Society Library presents Literary Awakenings: Personal Essays from the Hudson Review. This panel celebrates the publication of Literary Awakenings: Personal Essays from the Hudson Review, edited by Ronald Koury, the magazine’s Managing Editor since 1985. During the past thirty years, the editors of the Hudson Review observed a trend among the best literary essayists and reviewers to couch their criticism in a highly personal manner as opposed to the theoretical, technocratic work being produced in other venues. The Hudson Review became a home for this kind of accessible, memoirist writing. This anthology, introduced by William H. Pritchard, collects 18 such essay/memoirs. These diverse contributions unite in the joy of appreciation, the pleasures of engaging with literature. Following opening remarks by Hudson Review Editor Paula Deitz, Mr. Koury will introduce the panel: the moderator, Prof. Pritchard, along with three of the essayists. William H. Pritchard, moderator, first appeared in the Hudson Review in Summer 1967 and became an Advisory Editor of the magazine in 1973. His published criticism includes critical and biographical studies of Robert Frost, Randall Jarrell, Wyndham Lewis, and John Updike. He is the Henry Clay Folger Professor of English, Emeritus, at Amherst College. Susan Balée’s Flannery O’Connor, Literary Prophet of the South (1994) was the first biography of the Southern writer. Andrew Motion, the United Kingdom Poet Laureate 1999–2009, is the Homewood Professor of the Arts in the Writing Seminars program at Johns Hopkins University. He is the author most recently of Coming in to Land: Selected Poems 1975–2015. Igor Webb is the author of Rereading the Nineteenth Century: Studies in the Old Criticism from Austen to Lawrence (2010). He is a Professor and the Director of Creative Writing at Adelphi University. https://www.nysoclib.org/events/literary-awakenings-personal-essays-hudson-review
Литературные журналы
 
15:33
Всем привет, в этом видео я расскажу литературных журналах на которые я подписана или регулярно покупаю. Данное видео меня попросили снять под одним из преведущих отчётов о прочитанном. Надеюсь они будеть вам интересно. 1. The Happy Reader https://www.thehappyreader.com/ 2. Slightly Foxed https://foxedquarterly.com/products/subscriptions/ 3. Persephone biannually http://www.persephonebooks.co.uk/ 4. The Paris Review https://www.theparisreview.org/ 5. The New York Review of Books http://www.nybooks.com/issues/2017/02/09/ 6. Literary Review https://literaryreview.co.uk/ 7. The New Yorker http://www.newyorker.com/books/ 8. Times Literary supplement http://www.the-tls.co.uk/latest-edition/ 9. Buzz books http://www.ebookmall.com/ebook/february-buzz-books-monthly-your-best-guide-to-top-titles-appearing-this-month/publishers-lunch/9780997774443 10. New Scientist http://subscription.newscientist.com/packages/newscientist.php?promCode=9727&packageCodes=PTA&offerCode=Q&cmpid=PSC|NSNS|2017-UK-bing-brand 11. BBC History magazine http://www.historyextra.com/bbc-history-magazine/current-issue В видео я упомянила следующие журналы:
Views: 852 Ana - bb03aav
One Story - Award Winning Literary Magazine
 
01:41
http://www.dailygrommet.com/products/one-story-award-winning-literary-magazine The Daily Grommet team discovers One Story Magazine whose mission is to save the short story by mailing one great short story every three weeks to subscribers.
Views: 1025 The Grommet
The Dirty Word Society - Literary Journals
 
08:09
Finally, our super secret project has arrived. Here's how it works, every two weeks we drop a Dirty Word Society call to action that will make you a better reader, better writer or better person. We're joining in the challenge as well, but what we want to see is your reactions. This week, go out and buy a literary journal and review something from it. This is the future of our industry. Keep in Touch: Twitter - @StrippedCover Facebook - http://www.facebook.com/strippedcoverlit Patreon - http://www.patreon.com/strippedcoverlit Email - [email protected] Instagram - strippedcoverlit Get to Know Us on Twitter: Adrian Fort - @AdrianAnyway Dalton Gentry - @TheDalton Support our Supporters: Claude Thompson Zoila Carrizales Devin Lee Ævar Rafn Halldórsson Music: http://www.bensound.com/royalty-free-...
Views: 653 Stripped Cover Lit
Literary Essay Magazine
 
06:16
description
Views: 94 Mike Megan